The Challenge of Independence!

Happy Independence Day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 If there is no inspiration, there is no art!  For me, inspiration comes floating by like soap bubbles in the wind and I find myself dependent on someone “blowing the bubbles!”.  I recently started following a cool blog: Flying Through Water she got my inspiration flowing with her challenging “Penguin Prompt”: Independence. 

America wouldn’t exist if we hadn’t yearned for independence.  I smiled at the thought that my first act of independence was probably insisting on tying my shoes for myself. For me the word independence goes hand in hand with liberty and for me liberty is a state of mind.

I find liberty in remembering where I came from: knowing which mistakes not to make again or remembering what works for me and decide to keep doing that!

Liberty is having a goal and seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.  You know you can get there if you keep on keeping on.  I find peace and purpose making a goal, it is how I find independence.

You can’t have liberty and independence without a plan.  If the first plan doesn’t work, try another. You gotta have a plan!  Speaking from my own life,  I feel absolute liberty in my spirit because I am a Christian and I feel secure that I am doing God’s plan.

Flying Through Water’s challenge was so fun to make!  I used a 10 x 10 gallery wrapped canvas covered in Tiffany Blue acrylic paint.  I used a ink jet print of this  Renaissance girl and gave her glitter accents and a wire crown embellished with rhinestones. The scrabble letters make an arch over her head and the parchment paper border has plastic stars at each corner.

Lordy, now I have to learn how to make a Pingback to enter the Flying Through Waters Penguin Prompt. Fingers crossed!

Happy 4th of July to all!

3 comments

  1. LOL You can always just email me the link to your submission like you did this time. That made me smile! 🙂 Will be sharing this tomorrow in my weekly round-up! Thank you so much for joining in and for calling my blog ‘cool’!

    Like

    • I am looking forward to any “penguin prompts” they are like inspiration bubbles…I live for inspiration! Thanks so much for your link, I am new to blogging and it is fun to find my way!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.