Repurposed Plastic Egg Carton Floral Wreath

egg carton wreath feature

After I experimented with shrinking the clear plastic egg cartons and made the lapel pin and mixed media collage, I could hardly wait to see if I could make a wreath.

I used Costco clear plastic egg cartons and they were easy to work with:

egg carton start

The cartons cut easier with my wire cutters than regular scissors.

egg carton cups

I removed the cups from two egg cartons and also cut the pieces that divided the eggs, so I had a big pile.

egg carton paint

Paint each cup with acrylic paint BEFORE popping them in the oven.

egg before

Since I am impatient, I don’t even wait for the paint to dry before putting them in the 350 degree oven.

egg after

You really have to watch them, don’t leave them in too long or they will curl up TOO much.

egg start

I BARELY left the egg carton divider pieces in so they would stay “trumpets”. It is a good idea to space them out so you know if you have enough for the entire wreath. I used a dab of hot glue to attach each trumpet shaped piece to the wreath form.

I decided to add green rafia ribbon I got at the dollar store to make a secure place for hot glue to attach each egg cup and a design element. I cut the ribbons 6″ long and tied them leaving a loose knot to receive the hot glue and held each cup down until the glue cooled.

Just keep working your way around the wreath until it is all filled.

egg carton wreath feature

This wreath about 4 hours to make but it was fun to finish! Since I used hot glue, it won’t be able to be hung on the outside door because when the sun hits it, the hot glue will melt. If you want yours to be outside, you will have to use E6000 or some other sturdy glue.

6 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.